Skip to main content
Gianluca Carnabuci

Faculty chairs

Disseminating knowledge!

Faculty overview

Meet the ESMT faculty

At ESMT Berlin we recruit, develop, and promote a diverse world-class faculty.

Our productive environment supports the academic faculty in their focus on rigorous and original research aimed at top academic publications. Our managerial faculty further enriches the school with strong business experience combined with academic credentials. Industry backing provides opportunities to generate ideas with substantial practical impact, that also feed insights into creative teaching approaches.

Faculty chairs

Academic excellence through funded chairs

Faculty chairs represent the research agenda of a faculty member. If you would be interested in funding a chair, please see the "support link" further down on this page.

  • Deutsche Bank Professor in Sustainable Finance

    Deutsche Bank logo


    Inauguration: 2022

    Professor:  N. N.

  • Deutsche Post DHL Group Professor in Sustainable Accounting



    Inauguration:  2022

    Professor:  N. N.

  • Deutsche Telekom Chair in Leadership and HR Development

  • ESMT Chair in Entrepreneurship

  • Ingrid and Manfred Gentz Chair in Business and Society

    The Ingrid and Manfred Gentz Chair in Business and Society is the first privately funded chair at ESMT. Manfred Gentz was a member of the Board of Management at Daimler until 2004 and played a central role in the founding of ESMT. With the financing of this chair, Ingrid and Manfred Gentz support research contributing to a value-based framework for decision-making.

    Inauguration: February 6, 2019

    Chair: Gianluca Carnabuci, Professor of Organizational Behavior, Ingrid and Manfred Gentz Chair in Business and Society

    The chair’s mission is to develop relevant scientific knowledge to help leaders act competently and responsibly in the face of an increasingly knowledge-based, interconnected, and innovation-driven society. At the center of the Chair’s research and teaching is the role of trust-based networks as conduits of individual and organizational effectiveness.

  • Joachim Faber Chair in Business and Technology

    Inauguration:  tba

    Chair: Interested candidates are welcome to apply. For a description of the Chair and application details, please visit .

  • Lufthansa Group Chair in Innovation

  • Michael Diekmann Chair in Management Science

    The Michael Diekmann Chair in Management Science honors the former chairman of the Board of Trustees of the ESMT Foundation.

    Inauguration:  June 15, 2016

    Chair:  Tamer Boyaci, Professor of Management Science, Michael Diekmann Chair in Management Science, and Dean of Faculty

    Mr. Diekmann was the chairman of the ESMT Foundation from 2007 to 2015, during which time he was also the CEO at Allianz SE. It was a period of rapid and continuous growth for ESMT with some important milestones being international accreditations and the right to grant PhDs.

    The Michael Diekmann Chair in Management Science aims to consolidate the interconnectedness of sustainability and profitability. It focuses on the development and application of concepts to solve managerial issues. With interdisciplinary approaches, the chair supports companies in making sustainable decisions.

  • President's Chair

    The first holder of the President’s Chair is Francis de Véricourt, who has been recognized for both his outstanding research contributions as well as his excellent teaching methods. His research interests include analytics and decision science, with a current focus on health care and sustainability. He is the author of numerous academic papers in prominent management, analytics, and economics journals such as Management Science, Operations Research and American Economics Review, among others, and has received multiple awards for his research contributions.

    Francis de Véricourt has extensive experience in teaching degree programs and executive education and moves freely between these two very different types of classrooms. He has repeatedly received the best teaching award as well as top evaluations for his classroom work with PhD, MBA, Executive MBA, and Master’s in Management students as well as company leaders in diverse executive programs.

  • Volkswagen Group Junior Chair for Diversity in Organizations

    The research of the chair will center on social and organizational processes and examine how career advancement, compensation, and entrepreneurial activities differ across genders. Furthermore, the chair will explore mechanisms that create opportunities to reduce and overcome inequalities and highlight the benefits of diverse leadership teams. Lastly, the chair will serve as a platform for exchange between leaders of diverse cultural backgrounds in middle and senior management.

    VW logo

    Inauguration: July 1, 2021 with inauguration ceremony to follow

    Chair: Tatiana Lluent, Assistant Professor of Strategy and Volkswagen Group Junior Chair for Diversity in Organizations

Support ESMT.

Help advance knowledge!