Skip to main content

Meet our team


Dr. Sandro Gaycken

Director, DSI
+49 30 21231–1650

For requests or proposals please contact

Heli Tiirmaa-Klaar

Director, DSI
+49 30 21231–1652


Prof. Dr. Christoph Thiel

Senior Researcher and Program Lead, DSI

Isabel Skierka

Researcher and Project Lead, DSI
+49 30 21231–1653

Nils Brinker (born Wehkamp)

Research Associate and Project Lead, DSI
+49 151 28860764

Konstantin Schaarschmidt

Researcher, DSI

Helene Pleil

Research Associate, DSI

Lilly Schmidt

Research Associate, DSI

Lilian Fanderl

Student Research Assistant, DSI

Duc Anh Le

Student Research Assistant, DSI

Bernd Kowalski

Head of Department, BSI and Senior Advisor, DSI

Richard Skalt

Manager, DSI
+49 170 4807442

Ketevan Wehrsig

Training Coordinator, DSI
+49 170 7607319

Julia Kaubisch

Project Assistant, DSI
+49 30 21231-1664


Dr. Jamie Saunders

Research Fellow, DSI

Dr. Jamie Saunders is a strategic security consultant, providing security and risk management advice to a range of large corporations and governmental organisations.  He is a Fellow of the James Martin School at the University of Oxford and a Fellow of the Digital Society Institute at the European School of Management and Technology.

External Affiliates

Prof. Philippe Baumard, Professor and Research Associate, Ecole Polytechnique CEO, Akheros

Clemens Binninger, Former member of the German Bundestag and chairman of the Parliamentary Control Panel

Prof. Frédérick Douzet, Professor, Institut Français de Géopolitique (IFG)

Kenneth Geers, PhD, Very Good Security, Atlantic Council, NATO Cyber Centre


Michael Hange, Former President of the Federal Office for Information Security (BSI)

James Andrew Lewis, PhD, Director, Senior Fellow, Strategic Technologies Program, CSIS

John Mallery, Computer Science & Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, MIT

Advisory Council

Chairman: Ambassador Wolfgang Ischinger, Chairman of the Munich Security Conference

Vice Chairman: Dr. Robert Blackburn, former President, Information Technology and Supply Chain Operations, BASF

Dr. Thomas Bagger, Director of Foreign Policy in the Office of the Federal President

Ambassador Sorin Ducaru, Senior Fellow, Hudson Institute, Washington DC, Special Advisor to the Global Commission on the Stability of Cyberspace, former NATO Assistant Secretary General

Melissa Hathaway, Senior Advisor, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, Harvard Kennedy School

Dr. Stefan Heißner, Partner, EY

Dr. Martin Hofmann, CIO, Volkswagen AG

Dr. Ralf Schneider, Group CIO, Allianz SE

Brigitte Zypries, Former Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy

Former Employees

Lola Attenberger

Researcher and Project Lead, DSI

Martin Schallbruch

Former Director, DSI

Dr. Henning Lahmann

Former Senior Researcher, DSI

Stefan Schuck

Former Researcher, DSI